World Mental Health Day

Today, October 10, is World Mental Health Day and, slightly embarrassingly, this nascent mental-health-related blog’s got nuthin’. Why?

Because October 9 is when I was reminded about the existence of World Mental Health Day. And this close to the end of my school term, I didn’t have time to throw something together on such short notice. Over-organizer that I (usually) am, I’ve now set up reminders in Google Calendar to do better next year. ; )

In the meantime, here’s some link love to appropriate reading material:

Mental health: Let’s get back to basics by Mark Tyrrell of Uncommon Knowledge calls for us all “to bring more humanity into helping us all become mentally healthier”.

You could say that to achieve good mental health, we have to admit our own shortcomings, but this can be difficult. Jeremy Dean over at PsyBlog looks at Why People Avoid the Truth About Themselves.

And Therapy Tales takes a stinging look at the under-investment in mental health.

Cheers!

About Rebekah

Marriage & Family Therapist (MFT) Registered Intern (IMF 75650). Editor. Student of hypnosis. Geek. Straight ally. Not necessarily in that order.

Posted on Monday 10 October 2011, in Psychology and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Hey you πŸ™‚ Thanks for the linkage. I look forward to seeing what you come up with next year πŸ™‚

    WG.x

    • You’re welcome – always! More links will be coming your way in future from time to time; after linking to your Freud strip, I decided I liked the idea of posting a “Friday Funny”, so I’m going to attempt to do so every week. We’ll see if that holds. πŸ˜‰

      Hope I don’t disappoint next year! I’ll be a year into grad school, so hopefully I’ll be teeming with ideas. Or rants.

  1. Pingback: World Mental Health Day 2012…ish « Somewhere in Mind

Leave a Reply

